The Board

(Current Members)

Aritro Bhattacharya is a student of English Literature at Presidency University with an interest in both the digital (both singleplayer and multiplayer) and the analogue games. He is also interested in analysing Storytelling techniques in Video Games and Literature, and how the genre works in both art forms and also dabbles in making games though not professionally as of now. (role: founding member and social media handler)

Geoffrey Fernandez is a PhD candidate at IIT Roorkee. His doctoral research examines the use of culture, mythology, and folklore in video games. (role: founding member)

Isha Lahiri is a postgraduate student of English Literature at Presidency University, Kolkata, India. She has worked for several English daily newspapers such as The Telegraph and The Times of India and worked as a Public Relations representative in several social sector projects. Academically, she is primarily interested in exploring questions pertaining to the manifestation of social control in different geopolitical contexts and their inter-medial representations (in comics, video games , etc.) . She also takes interest in Digital Humanities and has acquainted herself with this ever-growing field by organising and participating in various Digitization projects and workshops occasionally. (role: nominated member)

Poonam Chowdhury is pursuing PhD at EFLU Hyderabad. She’s a founding member of GSI Adda and a Facilitator for  a SIG on Computational Humanities and Computational Analytics with Digital Humanities Alliance for Research and Teaching Innovations (DHARTI). Her research interests include indie videogames, game-spaces, gender issues in video games, simulated cities, slow gaming, literary and critical theory, etc. (role: founding member, finance and diversity officer)

Riko Banerjee is a gamer and tech enthusiast, with experience in a variety of fields within the gaming and esports industry. He has been fascinated by video gaming and the culture surrounding it practically since he developed consciousness, and his passion for it led him to become a member of DiGRA India. When he is not playing a game, he is either reading up about them or binge watching game trailers till they come out. (role: founding member and social media handler)

Sourav Chattopadhyay is a postgraduate student of English literature at Presidency University, Kolkata. An enthusiast in Digital Humanities, he has jointly led the Presi Plaques Project ( He is currently engaged in a personal project of digitizing audio recordings of live concerts from the 1990s’ modern Bengali musical scene. (role: founding member and finance)

Souvik Kar is a PhD Scholar at Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad and a founding member of Game Studies India Adda. He works on nuclear fiction, and occasionally writes and performs his own poetry. He also likes to speculate that videogames play him, rather than the other way around. (role: founding member and editorial committee member)

Dr Souvik Mukherjee is one of the earliest videogame researchers from India and is the author of two monographs, Videogames and Storytelling: Reading Games and Playing Books and Videogames and Postcolonialism: Empire Plays Back. He is currently employed as assistant professor in Cultural Studies at Centre for Studies in Social Sciences Calcutta. Dr Mukherjee is also a DiGRA Distinguished Scholar. (role: founding member)

Zahra Rizvi is a PhD. scholar at the Department of English, Jamia Millia Islamia, India. She was recently MHRD-SPARC Fellow at the Department of Linguistics and Germanic, Slavic, African and Asian Language Studies, Michigan State University, and works in the fields of cultural studies, utopia/dystopia studies and video game studies. Her research interests include popular culture, young adult participatory spaces and geopolitical issues in and of cross-platform media. (role: founding member, editorial committee member and diversity officer)


We are honoured to have the following eminent personalities from the academia and industry, both international and local, in our Advisory Committee:

Dhruv Jani, Founder, Studio Oleomingus

Poornima Seetharaman, Director of Design, Zynga India; and Ambassador, Women in Games

Dr Thomas Apperley, Senior Research Fellow, Centre of Excellence in Game Culture Studies, University of Tampere, Finland

Dr Tomasz Majkowski, Associate Professor, Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland